Haaland wins PFA Player of the Year award – Sportstar

Subscribers Only Have you subscribed yet?
Buy Print
Published : Aug 30, 2023 07:41 IST , LONDON – 1 MIN READ
follow iconFollow Us
Erling Haaland of Manchester City. | Photo Credit: Getty Images
Manchester City striker Erling Haaland was named the Professional Footballers’ Association (PFA) Player of the Year on Tuesday.
The 23-year-old was voted ahead of teammates Kevin de Bruyne and John Stones, as well as Arsenal’s Martin Odegaard, Bukayo Saka and former Tottenham player Harry Kane, who is now with Bayern Munich.
ALSO READ | Van Dijk charged by FA over red card reaction, could face longer suspension
Haaland’s remarkable performance saw him netting 52 goals in 53 matches across all competitions last season, contributing to City’s triple victory as they clinched the Premier League, FA Cup, and the Champions League titles.
The Norway international also achieved recognition in May, being awarded the titles of Premier League’s Player of the Season and Football Writers’ Association’s Men’s Player of the Year.
Saka was named the PFA Young Player of the Year for the first time after receiving a nomination for the fourth season in a row.
Aston Villa striker Rachel Daly secured the PFA Women’s Players’ Player of the Year award after finishing as the top scorer in the Women’s Super League with 22 goals.
Chelsea’s Lauren James was named as the Young Player of the Year.
Premier League /
Premier League 2023-24 /
Erling Haaland /
Manchester City /
Lauren James /
Chelsea /
Kevin De Bruyne /
Bukayo Saka /
Arsenal /
Martin Odegaard /
Bayern Munich /
Harry Kane /
Rachel Daly
Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment







Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *